Skip to main content
Average ER Wait Times

Presbyterian/St. Luke’s Medical Center

-- mins

Rocky Mountain Hospital For Children at P/SL

-- mins

Kelli Jantz 2011 National Frist Award Winner

The 2011 Frist Humanitarian Award honors P/SL's Kelli Jantz, RN

Kelli Jantz, mother of a young football player who died from a concussion, wins national humanitarian award.

Watch the HCA Healthcare video to learn about Kelli's story and her award:

Kelli Jantz, RN, a nurse and Transplant Program Coordinator at Presbyterian/St. Luke’s Medical Center in Denver, worked tirelessly to educate others to prevent and reduce youth concussions after her son Jake died from injuries sustained in a high school football game. For nearly a decade, Jantz told Jake’s story to thousands of parents, athletes, coaches, medical professionals and legislators. In January 2012, Colorado passed a bill known as the “Jake Snakenberg Youth Concussion Act.” Hailed as the most far-reaching law to reduce concussions among youths, “Jake’s Law” requires coaches of organized youth athletic activities to complete an annual concussion education program. It also has guidelines on removing young athletes from play after a blow to the head or body, and requiring clearance from a healthcare professional in order to return to play.

Established in 1971, the awards honor outstanding individuals for their humanitarian and volunteer activities. The Frist Humanitarian Awards are given annually in recognition of the caring spirit and philanthropic work of the late Dr. Thomas Frist, Sr., a founder of HCA. Employees, volunteers and medical staff members who demonstrate commitment and dedication to providing care and humanitarianism are selected from around the country, and honorees are recognized at the local level. The three national recipients were selected from more than 200 hospital-level honorees.

The Frist Humanitarian Awards include a $5,000 donation to the charity of the recipient’s choice and $5,000 in cash for the employee and volunteer. The medical staff honoree receives a $10,000 donation to their charity of choice.

“The Frist Humanitarian Awards celebrate individuals whose achievements are an inspiration for all HCA caregivers, volunteers and employees, and reinforce our most important values,” said HCA chairman and CEO Richard M. Bracken. “To be sure, it is our culture that will enable our company to be as successful over the next 40 years as it has been during our first 40 years.”

All references to “Company” and “HCA” as used throughout this document refer to HCA Holdings, Inc. and its affiliates.

CEO, Mimi Roberson, tells Kelli Jantz she is the National Frist Humanitarian Award Winner

Photos from the National Frist Award Announcement Viewing Parties at P/SL

News Related Content